Jargon & Acronyms

Jargon Buster

Agenda - Running order of items to be discussed at a meeting

Chair – Oversees the SSC

Declarations of Interest – When you have a monetary, family or personal link that may influence the way you vote/decide. You declare these at the start of the meeting

Department Reps – Elected from the course reps at the first SSC

Minutes – Notes of the previous meeting

Matters arising – points following up from the previous minutes – eg in the last meeting if  you promised to discuss a project with a colleague, then you will present what was discussed with that colleague



A B C D  E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V X Y Z


AHRC - Arts and Humanities Research Council

APC – Academic Policy Committee

AVS - Audio-Visual Services

BBSRC - Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council

BDRA - Beyond Distance Research Alliance

CAC - College Academic Committee

CFS - Central File Server

CLMS - Centre for Labour Market Studies

CPP - Department of Cell Physiology and Pharmacology

CSSAH - College of Social Sience Art and Humanities

CWIS - Campus Wide Information System/Corporate Web Information Service (name changed)

DL - Distance Learning

DMH - De Montfort Hall

EBDO - Enterprise and Business Development Office

EDO - Equality Departmental Officers

EPSRC -Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council

ESRC -Economic and Social Research Council

FJB - Fielding Johnson Building

GTA - Graduate Teaching Assistant

HEFCE – Higher Education Funding Council for England

HWB - Henry Wellcome Building

HR - Human Resources (previously Personnel)

III- Department of Infection, Immunity and Inflammation

ITS - IT Services

MRC - Medical Research Council

MSB - Maurice Shock Medical Sciences Building

NERC - Natural Environment Research Council

NSS – National Student Survey

NUS – National Union of Students

PG - Postgraduate

PGR – Postgraduate Research

PGT – Postgraduate Taught

PRES – Postgraduate Research Experience Survey

PTES – Postgraduate Taught Experience Survey

PVC - Pro-Vice-Chancellor

QAA – Quality Assurance Agency

SAS - Student Academic Services

SSC – Student staff committee

SRC- Space Research Centre

SSDS- Student Support and Development Service

STFC- Science and Technology Research Council

SU - Students’ Union

TEF - Teaching Excellence Framework

UCAS - Universities and Colleges Admissions Service

UG - Undergraduate

UHL - University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust

VC - Vice-Chancellor

VCAC - Vice-Chancellor’s Advisory Committee

VLE - Virtual Learning Environment (Blackboard)